Stylish, relaxed and friendly
An outstanding setting for drinks, food or to spend the night...
and if you're planning a party or wedding,
come and see us.
Located close to Edinburgh in the quaint village of South Queensferry,
Orocco Pier has been transformed into a beautiful and stylish hotel,
restaurant bar and café bar.
The perfect destination for a short or longer visit,
you’ll find the views hard to beat and you will always receive
a warm, friendly welcome.
In January 2001, Peter Wilson, Eleanor Cooke and Grant Manson formed the company Renaissance Ecosse Limited which owns and operates Orocco Pier. Previously known as the Queensferry Arms, Orocco Pier officially opened in December 2003 after an extensive refurbishment by renowned architects Kerr Blyth Associates. The aim was to create the perfect dining, drinking and dreaming experience within the 17th Century building. Orocco is a moniker of iroko wood which was used throughout the refurbishment of the building. Since then the company has gone from strength to strength, adding the events venue Fuchsia in July 2004 and more recently, the café-bar Antico in August 2009. Designed by the same architects, Antico has a relaxed yet vibrant atmosphere with full glass paneled walls to look out onto the fantastic views of the Forth Bridges with the Antico terrace allowing outdoor dining, drinking and events. The establishment continues to grow with Samphire, our seafood bar and grill, which opened its doors in the autumn of 2011.
Orocco Pier is situated within the historic burgh of South Queensferry. The town acquired its name from the ‘Queens Ferry’ which was opened by Queen Margaret in 1070. The ferry originally transported people between South and North Queensferry to reach the church in Dunfermline which the Queen commissioned.
When looking out to the Firth of Forth from Orocco Pier, Inchgarvie Island can be seen directly below the Rail Bridge. Over the years this island has housed; a castle, a prison, a defence fortress, a place of exile for the plague stricken people of Edinburgh and even a construction office and workers accommodation during the building of the Forth Rail Bridge. However the island has now been abandoned since the Second World War. From the pier underneath the Rail Bridge there is a ferry which runs to nearby Inchcolm Island. The island still holds the remains of the former Augustinian Abbey and like other islands along the Firth of Forth was fortified during the First and Second World Wars to protect against shipping attacks. There are still remains of old tunnels, lookout posts and bunkers. The Forth Rail Bridge was opened by Edward, Prince of Wales in 1890 and designed by Sir John Fowler. The bridge uses the double cantilever principle and is 8,000ft long. During construction, which took seven years, at least 57 men were killed despite there being safety boats positioned under the bridge.
The need for a second bridge in Queensferry arose in the 1950’s when, after 900 years in operation, the ferry between North and South Queensferry could no longer cope with demands. The Forth Road Bridge was opened by the Queen in 1964 and originally was a toll bridge until 2008 when the £1 northwards toll was abolished. Unfortunately the bridge is now coming to the end of its lifespan due to the corrosion of the main suspension cables. Also, during the design process, engineers failed to predict the vast amount of cars that are now on the road and also the increased weight of goods vehicles over the years so the bridge is no longer fit for its purpose. A new Forth Road Bridge crossing, located slightly to the west of the current Road Bridge, is currently being constructed and is due for completion in 2016.